Ros – Dee DeTarsio

de·light·ful 

 /dɪˈlaɪtfəl/ Show Spelled[dih-lahyt-fuhl]

adjective

giving great pleasure or delight; highly pleasing: a delightful surprise.

I don’t know her personally, but I still know Dee DeTarsio is delightful.  A delightful person and a delightful writer.   My review of her Hawaiian mystery Haole Wood happened to come out on my birthday last month.  When she saw this on Facebook, she sent me an Amazon gift of her book Ros.   I was touched by her thoughtfulness. . .and here I go again. . .and I am delighted to report that Ros was delightful.  😉

I had no idea what to expect when I cracked open  Ros.  I didn’t go online and check the description or read any reviews.  I just knew that I enjoyed Haole Wood, so I would probably like Ros.  I not only liked it, I loved it.  Micki is recently divorced, the kids are off to college, and she’s alone with her daughter’s cantankerous cat Gal, who seems to like everyone but her.   When what she believes to be a plane crashes behind her house one evening Micki’s world is turned upside down, because that wasn’t any plane.  Turns out the pilot Micki rescues from the wreckage is a charming little alien that  the US Military is on the hunt for, along with some rogue alien hunters bent on capturing her for themselves.  Throw in a grouchy ex mother-in-law who is taking advantage of the fact that everyone thinks she has Alzheimer’s, and Ros takes us on an epic adventure where intergalactic friendships are forged, loyalties are tested, and family bonds reaffirmed.  (Oh, and let’s not forget a little romance.)

Once again Ms. DeTarsio charmed me with her witty dialogue and awkward, self-effacing heroine.  The author keeps the tone of the book light and fun while teaching us a few lessons on being a good human being through a Zen-like little alien called Ros.  Ms. DeTarsio’s talent for expressing humor through her writing is very natural and flows effortlessly through the dialogue.   The plot is solid and engaging, tying up loose ends nicely. 

This book is an eclectic mix of fantasy, adventure, sci-fi, and romance, all wrapped up in a nice little package that is lively and full of sass.  It is a fresh, fun, light read with substance — a difficult mix for any writer.  Being the alien geek that I am, it was an extra-special treat to read a book of that genre targeted at women.   Oh, and it’s FREE this week on Amazon!

You can follow Dee DeTarsio on Facebook, Twitter @DeeDeTarsio, or at her website:  http://deedetarsio.wordpress.com/ .

One comment on “Ros – Dee DeTarsio

  1. deedetarsio says:

    Dear Kimberly! I have a soft spot for Ros, so your review was that much more awesome! Ros has been a hard sell–not many readers think they would like sci-fi or aliens, but as I’ve discovered, that’s the pleasant surprise of it all! Thank you again! One of my (seven) fans (and not my mother!) even asked me if there was going to be a sequel!

Leave a Reply

